Taipei: A lot of Little Things

I will start telling my stories from the summer of 2014. In 2014 I went to Taiwan. So far, this is the cutest country I have ever visited! Some russian-speaking bloggers compare it to Japan, but I can’t say so because I haven’t been there. But I have liked Taiwan a lot. What’s more about the cuteness, there will be a cute story at the end of the post.

I’ve stayed in Taipei and visited Lugang during one of the culture trips inside of the country.

In this post, I will mostly post the photoes of the details of the city, such as views, roadsigns, houses, advertisements. I always do pay attention to these things because this is what makes you feel the athmosphere of the place. The churches, museums and the rest deserve to be mentioned as well, but on the other hand once you realised that all of them are similar from some point.

But the main detail that I can’t express completely in the photo is that the people are really nice and helpful. And a lot of people know English very well.

Let’s go!

I lived in Grand Hyatt Taipei. Here’s the view from the elevator hall.

IMG_0349The skyscraper Taipei 101 is the fifth-tallest building in the world, as for 2014.

IMG_0450The building itself is connected to the world trade center.

IMG_0469 IMG_0472Houses in the centre of the city.

IMG_0476 IMG_0479..And not so bright houses.

IMG_0521 IMG_0523If you look at the map, you’ll note that Taipei isn’t really large. Lot of people use scooters in order to save place. The scooters are really a trend.

IMG_0527An advertisement that covers a whole building. A common thing.

IMG_0531The bus timetable.

IMG_0532And the bus.

IMG_0539Lovely small streets! Again, look at the number of the scooters. It was completely impossible to walk along the side of the streets because a lot of them were parked there.

IMG_0540 IMG_0543 IMG_0544Nice view: small strees x towering Taipei 101.

IMG_0549A small (shop?).

IMG_0551More crowded little street.

IMG_0565Road signs.

IMG_0561IMG_0579 IMG_0582Road markings.

IMG_0584 IMG_0572The playground.

IMG_0577The children, playing in the fountain.

IMG_0589The demonstration.

img_0625 img_0624 As the last, but not the least, I will tell story, happened to me when I was walking through some of the streets in the centre of Taipei. During my walk, somebody attracted my attention by pulling my shorts. It appeared to be 70-90 cm little boy with his even smaller little sister. I did not understand anything, ’cause I was clearly looking like a foreigner, and it is not really a good idea to ask the foreigner when you can ask somebody else. He was looking at me, when I said: “Do you need help?”. His answer was: “Yes! Follow me.”. Well, here I have got surprised for the first time: wait, a little Taiwanese child really knows such words in English. Hey, I can show you as much as you want belarusian highschoolers, not aware of what does “Hello” and “Thank you” mean. I have followed him and his little sister. We just walked for a very little while, tell we’ve reached the crossroad. The children stood silently, pointing me at this crossroad. After a little while, they boy looked confused and started to speak Chinese to me. I could not say anything but “I don’t understand” (in English, well). A couple, walking on this street saved us, by asking a boy, what does he want to say. It appears that the boy thought that I have got lost and he decided to show me the way to my hotel. Ah, it is the nicest thing somebody unknown ever made to me! After I have said “It is really nice of you!”, I have walked to my next destination, with a very good mood.

1 thought on “Taipei: A lot of Little Things”

Leave a Reply

