Barcelona: Catalonia or Spain?

I was planning to make my first Barcelona blog post about the details of the city, but the first detail I have met and the thing that followed me all the time was incredible aspiration of the anything to show that Catalonia is much more that just a region of Spain.

I have visited Barcelona in November of 2014, at the October Revolution weekend. October Revolution day is the 7-th of November (something is wrong here, definitely -_-). Personally I dislike all that communist and Soviet stuff, but I am glad that at least they give me an extra day off once a year.

The trip was quite spontaneous, and I have bought the tickets later that I should have bought them, so I flew by Lufthansa with ordinary (non-lowcost) fare. Anyway that was worth of it, ’cause sudden Barcelona trip was one of the best weekends in my life.

My acquaintance with the city started with a way from the airport. What was the first thing I have noted? Of course, it were a lot of Catalonian flags on the balconies of the ordinary people. Like this one. Be attentive, there are three at this photo!

IMG_1835Would you like one more?

IMG_2136You might ask a reasonable question: why do people put flags on their balconies. This is because the majority of the population consider themselves the citizens of Catalonia, not Spain. The flags are not the only sign of that, here is the photo of a wall, the photo was made during my walk in Guell park.

IMG_2922No more words are needed for this graffiti.

Mostly everywhere, you can find the pointers on three languages: Catalan, Spanish, and English.

Looks like speaking Catalan in very prestigious in Catalonia. Drawing parallels, here in Belarus there is a problem arising that the majority of people does not speak Belarusian and even just don’t want to do that. The reason is quite simple: for the majority in Belarus, the Belarusian language associates with countryside people, to whom they don’t really want to be similar. In Catalonia, speaking Catalan is prestigious, and it looks more like the language associates more with nobles.

One more arguement for Catalan is that a lot of people doesn’t want to consider themselves as a part of Spain, so this is also a way to express that they’re Catalonians, not Spanish.

A few days later, in the evening, I have seen a crowd of the people.

IMG_2558That was the day of the referendum for Catalonian independence from Spain. Though, official Spain goverment called this something like “a poll”.

Leave a Reply

